A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As society develops, the differences between rich people and ordinary people become complicated, because nowadays almost all people can afford most of materials which only could be held by wealthy. Due to this complication, the society focuses more on materialistic judgement by the possessions. Even though the old way to judge people (trust, kindness, honour, honesty and politeness) tend to be seemed forgot, the old way is still playing an important role in many parts of society. This essay will discuss these views in depth.

As the society changed into full materialistic worlds, where people can be able to possess majority of durable goods, the fine details becomes the measure to define the differences between rich and poor. In the case of vehicles and travel to overseas be the only option for wealthy, but nowadays anyone can have. The detail for those items such as the types of vehicles and the types of travel are becoming the new measure to judge other people’s status. Since people are focusing too many on tiny details for the distinction, people are forgetting about the old ways to measure people’s value. Therefore, it is common that people are judging other people by material possessions for the distinction between wealthy and ordinary people.

However, it does not mean that the old ways of valuing others is completely gone. The societies will be enlightened to consider the use of old way of measurement to judge other person. In the case of one of my friends, Maria Rakichinan, despite she is a daughter of a secretary general in Indonesia, she was being impolite and selfish. Due to her bad attitudes, all school mates did not like her and the school president had been forcing her in order to drop out from the school. Like this case, the society is expecting people to have a certain behavior regardless with their wealth. IN other cases, many corporations and employers are still seeking candidates with a well-mannered personality. Therefore, the society has forgotten about the old-fashioned ways to judge people.

In conclusion, it is very common to see that people are judging others by possessions. However, people would be recognized the importance of the traditional ways to judge people by seeing the personality of wealthy and the employment selection.