A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In this era of consumerism, social media and general competitiveness, it seems that loyalty, reliability, generosity and all the values attributable to a commonly known as a “good person”, no longer means laudable. Publicity has played an important role in this: electronics or home appliances are now far from those which in the '80s were advertised to make our lives easier, meant to be in service to us.

At a place and time when access to any device is almost guaranteed, everything from a coffee maker to a mobile phone is intended to show one´s social status. Someone wearing a high-end fitness tracker band, for instance, is not only assumed to be interested in well-being but a hard-worker who does not mind to spend a hundred more of pounds for the cost of the best on the market. We are then setting the value in the place of the cost, first to the object and then, consequently, to the wearer. If the device is expensive, it must be high-quality, and if someone spends some money on it, he might be a hard worker, a successful person. He deserves it. And that is the message advertisers try to send all the time: you are good enough, trait yourself. Show your love to someone by buying something to them, they deserve that thing.

Fortunately, some alternative movements are arising as a direct result of this materialistic society. Minimalists have claimed the benefits of focusing on the importance of non-material abundance, and they are encouraging others to a conscious step forward decrease and slow-life.

By possessing just the essentials we would be giving back the value to what really worths it. We are not our belongings.