A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is an undeniable fact that individuals are judged according to their outlook, status in society as well as their possession. However, the qualities like kindness, honesty, and trustworthiness are absolutely disregarded. To a certain extent, I concur with this notion but I also believe that old-fashioned values still play a crucial role in our lives.

It is considered that we are living in a pop culture and a materialistic scenario in which each person is judgemental. Nowadays, the thing which is prioritized in the expensive things one own and their astonishing looks. This can be illustrated with the example of Kim Kardashian. Her reality television serials never show any kind of acting, instead, they are based on her luxurious cars and expensive mansions. Not just this, there are a plenty of celebrities who earn name and fame because of son/daughter of a wealthy family. For instance, Abhishek Bachan, an actor of Bollywood, is famous because of his assets.

On the flip side, Although the traditional values such as respect, integrity, enthusiasm are seen to be forgotten but it still plays an indispensable role in a plethora of societies and communities. Generally, employers are still searching for the traits which include hard working, determination, dedication. The outer looks, as well as materialistic things, does not assist in any way. Thus, it is essential to educate the adolescents about these positive characters of life.

Hammering the last nail of this topic, albeit people are judged according to the modern values but I do believe that traditional traits lend a helping hand in the development of individuals. Therefore, it is advisable for parents to equip their children with such qualities so that they can succeed in life.