Petroleum is the dominant fuel source for various vehicles nowadays. Therefore, a rise in its price is often suggested to reduce the growing number of conveyances on the road. However, although such intervention can have some effect on the problem, in my opinion, its temporary success, the possible detriments, and the existence of better approaches to this issue proved the inadequateness of this strategy. Upon initial inspection, the validity of this policy seems concrete, as an upturn in the price of gasoline will deter unnecessary usage of carbon-emit transports and entice more environmentally friendly ways of moving, such as walking and cycling, undoubtedly having impact on the population.

Petroleum is the dominant fuel source for various vehicles nowadays. Therefore, a rise in its price is often suggested to reduce the growing number of conveyances on the road. However, although such intervention can have some effect on the problem, in my opinion, the possible detriments and the existence of better approaches to this issue proved the inadequateness of this strategy.

Upon initial inspection, the validity of this policy seems concrete, as an upturn in the price of gasoline will mitigate unnecessary usage of carbon-emit transports and entice more eco-friendly ways of commuting, such as walking and cycling, thus decreasing congestion and pollution. Despite this, it will also raise the price tag for many necessities due to the spike in the expense of the energy source used to transfer such goods. Additionally, a hike in the cost of fossil fuels will indirectly impede the productivity of the energy industry, leading to their inability to meet the production quota. This can have troubling consequences on many manufacturers' production and logistical efforts, further worsening the situation.

On account of the cited drawbacks, it is inadvisable to avoid intentional involvement in the energy market. Alternatively, policies regarding the development of public transportation, for instance, buses and subways, to discourage the use of private vehicles would prove to be more advantageous for reducing participation in traffic. A system of mass commuting services consisting of buses, trains and subways that is safe, convenient and widespread will attract many commuters. Moreover, such a system will be substantially easier to organize, manage, and be environmentally effective by operating on a schedule to minimize waste and, if possible, achieve zero-carbon emissions by running on renewable energy.

In conclusion, direct legislation to the value of depletable fuel sources, while understandable, can have detrimental consequences on the economy. Instead, a network of communal transportation available for the people will be more reasonable.