Some people believe citizens should be allowed to carry handguns in order to protect themselves, while others think this can lead to many social security problems in the society . What's your opinion ?

Citizen ownership of firearms has been a controversial debate for legislators. While the concept of allowing the equipment of weapons by citizens has been lawfully recognized in a few nations due to the belief that it can boost citizens' self-defence capabilities, others believe the social insecurity it causes outweighs its counterarguments. Personally speaking, I agree with the latter statement, illustrated by the following reasons.

First and foremost, guns are weapons designed to kill or wounded people. Hence, it is undeniable that an increase in the rate of arms in the population will lead to a similar trend in crime rates. The allowance of citizens to have handguns is equivalent to allowing criminals easy access to weapons themselves, resulting in growing danger for the public. For instance, a comparison between the two countries of the USA and Japan has demonstrated the detrimental effects of gun ownership on a national scale, with considerable differences in various data, such as the death rates of officers during missions or the incredibly alarming homicidal incidents: 18000 and 14. The figures are an illustration of the hazardous impact of armed offenders that the legislation has accidentally abetted.

Additionally, the psychological influence exerted upon a weaponized individual is irrefutable due to the weight of the damage a gun can bring.

In combination with the emotional aspect of humans and the intense atmosphere of the situation, it cannot be avoided that accidental actions may happen. And even in the most reasonable circumstances and sensible individuals, faulty errors might pop up, both in the human and equipment department. Allowing the free acquisition of firearms will have an adverse effect on society as it will result in an upturn in the probability of such incidental perpetrations, as indicated by various heartwrenching incidents reported on the media.

In conclusion, persuasion for the legalization of unprohibited weapon access has a myriad of justifications. Nonetheless, the negative consequences it can have on people are indisputable. Therefore, the formalisation of such regulation should be objected to at all causes.