Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea, some think they should be banned.

Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether plastic shopping bags should be prohibited because of its negative environmental impacts or not is vigorously discussed. From my perspective, the ban on this kind of bag should not be approved due to some main reasons following.

To commence with, plastic bags are cheaper and safer for users' health in certain cases when compared to other types of shopping bags like bags made of paper or canvas materials. When humans do large shopping grocery trips, they will need more shopping bags than usual which may result in their additional financial strain. Moreover, almost all the reusable shopping bags tested are jam-packed with bacteria. Thus, plastic bags seem to be more appropriate to carry raw foods such as fish and meat which can spread bacteria that possibly lead to fatal food poisoning.

Secondly, contrary to popular belief, some other kinds of shopping bags like tote bags or paper bags even can cause more serious soil and ocean pollution. This is because the production of these bags requires a greater quantity of wood, water, energy, and chemical substances. The utilization of these components will induce a lack of natural resources, and after toxic substances discharged into the land and sea, they will also worsen the environmental situation. Furthermore, if users just take advantage of these bags a few times, they will still produce a huge amount of waste which needs such a long period to degrade.

In conclusion, there should not be any proscription of plastic grocery bags because of their advantages and disadvantages that the ban on them can bring to the environment.