Rivers, lakes, and seas play an integral part in providing humans with clean water, which helps us to maintain our necessary activities and ensure our lives. However, our water environment has been seriously polluted, which has become a major concern for us. This essay will outline some causes of this phenomenon and its effects on animal life and human society.

There are many main reasons causing water pollution, which mostly comes from human actions. To begin with, these days, because of the development of industrialization and modernization, many factories and industries have been built to satisfy our needs. These factories and industries have discharged mostly untreated waste or sewage into rivers and oceans. This has made a significant contribution to polluting the water environment and destroying water creatures. Moreover, the development of tourism also brings about contaminating the water. For example, when traveling on a cruise or a boat, some unconscious visitors choose to throw the trashs into lakes or rivers instead of putting them into the garbage or bins. As a result, a large number of contaminants will pollute clean water and destroy the water ecosystem.

Water pollution has a severe impact on animal life and human society. Firstly, water pollution affects animal life, especially sea animals. Because of long-term water pollution, many rare sea creatures such as whales, dolphins, turtles, etc die out and even can be extinct. Secondly, polluted water not only accounts for lacking clean water but also affects land used in farming and breed. For instance, when water resources are polluted and have been wasted such as oil spills or chemicals, we can not use this source of toxic water to irrigate vegetables, trees, and feed animals in agriculture. As a consequence, this has led to a serious impact on farmers' incomes and the state's economy in the agriculture

In conclusion, there are some main causes such as disposal of untreated water from factories and unconscious travelers. This tendency has also resulted in some significant effects on animal habitats and human lives.