These days, there is some discussion about whether pop stars should be paid better than classical musicians. Although both views are reasonable, I think it is fair that pop singers earn more money than classical musicians.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why classical musicians should earn better salaries than pop stars. Firstly, because classical music is generally listened to by society's more influential and wealthy classes, classical music composers are put under a lot of pressure. Some spend their entire lives learning to master a particular musical instrument or style of music. In addition, classical music tends to be performed live on stage, and therefore musicians need to give a perfect performance every time, which could be very stressful. Pop stars, however, usually only sing along with music that is played from a recording, or can retake a recording when in the studio.

On the other hand, most pop stars need to spend countless hours in the studio every year in order to record new music, followed by many weeks and months touring the world performing and promoting their music to their fans. Although this may sound like an amazing lifestyle to some, many pop stars become exhausted and burnout early in their career or turn to drugs and alcohol in order to cope with the stress. Furthermore, pop stars are generally also expected to act as role models for the youth. This responsibility requires them to monitor their actions and behaviour in order to set positive examples for young people to follow, which can also add to their stress. Lastly, most pop stars have short-lived careers as pop music continues to evolve and new stars replace the old.

In conclusion, while both pop stars and classical musicians both have certain stresses in their careers, I believe that pop stars are more worthy of a higher income because of their duty to be role models, and the uncertainty of their career span.