In the present, people often choose to throw away things that are broken and buy new ones, but in the past people usually repaired them. What do you think about this case? What solutions? (20/8)

In this day and age, along with consumerism, things that are unfashionable or obsolete, are chosen to throw away and people are inclined to purchase new ones. However, compared to the past these owners commonly fixed and reused these items. From my perspective, I believe that this ideology brings numerous disadvantages not only for consumers but also for the environment and there will be some ways to deal with this problem.

To begin with, this tendency is believed to harm the economy of consumers. Along with the throw-away society, mass production leads to overproduction, and manufacturers frequently encourage consumers to purchase new items that can make people fashionable. Nonetheless, these items are manufactured with the purpose of use in the short term, and when new items release, users will throw the oldies away and buy new ones. For example, Apple company has continually produced new technology devices such as iPhone X although this item has similarities with the old version. Through advertisements, it can attract customers to purchase at exorbitant prices. Hence, customers’ budgets will be sooner broken if they over-purchase goods. Furthermore, with the continuality of buying new items and discarding them into the environment, it can have an adverse effect on the Earth. To more elaborate, goods that are disposable and not biodegradable, once they are released into the environment continuously, could cause environmental pollution and affect human living conditions. Take India as an example, there are some so-called trash mountains such as Ghazipur occurring in India that lead to environmental contamination due to excessive production.

There are some solutions to overcome this difficulty. The government should be harsh about the mass production of companies by limiting the number of products manufactured and released into the environment. For instance, with old clothes, they can establish some groups that need old clothes, and by doing that, people can donate old items to poor people or individuals who need these things.

In conclusion, along with the trend of altering obsolete items to new ones, it causes numerous environmental contaminants and people also encounter many difficulties with solving these issues. From my view, people should invest money wisely in purchasing products that are necessary.