At the present time, the population of some countries include a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the one of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages ?

In recent years, the proportion of youthful citizens in some nations is more likely to dominate than that of older people. It is contrary to the phenomenon of an ageing population that is often considered as a serious problem to the national economy. However, everything has its two sides. Therefore, this essay will discuss the pros and cons of the topic in order to identify which side of it can prevail over the other.

On the one hand, the young adults are believed to have the edge over the elderly when considering economic benefits. Firstly, the large quantity of younger people can contribute more talents to the labour force supply, which can be seen as a positive signal for HR departments in various industries. Specifically, these potential employees can blow a new wind to the innovation and development of companies due to the fact that they were born and brought up to be creative. Therefore, people who belong to these young generations can possess state-of-the-art knowledge and skills which are encouraged to be applied in national development, especially in the economic area. Secondly, the decrease in proportion that represents the quantity of older people in a country can reduce government spending for pension and other social welfare programs. Specifically, when people are at the age of retirement, they are no longer taxpayers and at the same time are financially supported and facilitated by the government. Additionally, aged people are more susceptible to illness which can put the health-care services under pressure. Thus, the increase in tender adults appears to be beneficial to the national economy.

On the other hand, there are a number of drawbacks that can arise when the number of adolescents is much larger compared to older communities. Firstly, the labour market tends to become more fiercely competitive when there are numerous youthful talents applying for positions that offer high salaries. Thus a heavy burden seems to be put on the young labour force and force them to work exhaustedly, which can negatively affect their physical and mental health. Secondly, although these tender generations can absorb new things at a fast pace, most of them are believed to lack practical experiences which just age employees can have in high-level positions of a company. As a result, it is hard for hirers to find rich-experienced people in such human capital that are mostly newbies.

To sum up, I personally think that the benefits of the larger proportion of budding adults compared to age people can outweigh the hindrances from this because the competitiveness in the labour market can boost their effort, productivity and performance. Besides, recently, youngsters are also proactively in attending extracurricular activities as well as internship programs to enrich their practical experiences. Therefore, its drawbacks seem to be solved more easily than creating its benefits.