At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays in some parts of the world, the young adults make up the greater part of the population as compared to their older counterparts. This has a more positive than a negative effect to the countries experiencing this trend.

To begin with, there are more benefits to the countries that have a significant number of young people making up their population. Firstly, the youth is energetic and it involves those that are already in the working class and they make a good contribution to the economy of that particular country. The nature of jobs that the young people partake in are those that are needed for this challenging world of technology for example, information technology jobs and hence contributes towards the economy of a country. Secondly, the young persons are still at their reproductive ages and as the aged get eliminated through natural selection the youth shall continue to have more children to replace them.

On the other hand, there are drawbacks associated with such a trend where there are fewer older adults than the young ones. If a population has only young people, it ends up not being able to meet their demands such as providing them with education and employment and failure to do this can then lead to the youth being involved in crimes. The other negative effect of having more of older adults is that they bring along an expense to the governments because as people grow older they get to suffer from disease that are age-related. When this happens the health budget of that country increases to cater for the elderly and their associated illnesses.

In conclusion, although there could be some drawbacks of having more young people in a population, there are more positive effects associated with this as young people are still energetic and take up jobs that are in line with the advances in technology these days and they also ensure continuity of reproduction.