With regard to the population of many countries around the world, it is now increasingly more common for a lot of nations to have a large number of young people and a lower figure of the elderly citizens. In this essay, I would like to identify both the advantages and disadvantages of this change and provide my personal conclusion.

To begin with, it is a matter of fact that young adults, who will have more time to contribute their effort to their country, will become the main workforce. To be more specific, they will take the main repsonsibility to carry out many scientific researches and start up their own businesses, which can help to develop the economy and society in their country in a better way. Secondly, it is also clear that, in many countries especially developing countries, having a large percentage of young labour is their competitive edge to attract more economic investments from many different multi-national companies. In particular, these investments can certainly create a lot of jobs for the local citizens, which can help them to earn money and improve their lives.

Turning to the other side of this argument, it should also be borne in mind that, the governments can face with enormous financial difficulties if they have to spend a lot of money maintaining and providing the welfare for young citizens for many years. Moreover, it is also true that, the number of young adults can exceed the capacity of many urban infrastructures such as public transport, university and hospital. For example, in Ho Chi Minh city, which is the biggest city in Vietnam, because there are too much private vehicles used to commnute by young people, it usually leads to the terrible traffic congestion every afternoon in this city.

In conclusion, I personally believe that although this change of population can have some negative impact on the economy and society in some countries, the advantages of this change still overweigh the disadvantages.