At present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of old people.

Every age group of people are important for a country. The ratio of young to old people might vary depending upon various factors, in some countries the population of young people is much higher than that of old people, while the reverse is true in few others. At first glance, having a relatively large number of young people, seems to have more advantages, but on deeper dive it appears to have some downsides as well. This essay will discuss both the perspectives.

To begin, having a higher young adult population is equivalent to a higher working population. This in turn will lead to better economy and hence aid in development of the country. In this tech age, it becomes important for countries to stay on par with the ever evolving and newer technologies. It is seen that the younger generation is open to such changes and adapt it into their daily lives without any hesitation, due to which there is a rise in the standards of living. For instance, India is one such developing country, which has a higher young population. When rate of the growth of other countries is compared to India, it is seen that India tops the list. Economists suggests this is majorly due to this ratio proportion of age groups.

Despite the positive arguments, there is a downside to this. With more young people, there is bound to be a lack of experience in all aspects of the society, like in the field of politics where experience rather than the knowledge is what matters, in order to solve the real time problems of the society like recession and war. Likewise, there are some ancient values and virtues that have been passed from generations together, with this kind of imbalance in population, there is a possible gap in imparting the knowledge.

In conclusion, there appears to be both positive and negative sides to this, however the advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages.