It seems paradoxical that while some countries are tackling population shrinkage, overpopulation, particularly the excessively large number of young people has been an issue in many societies. Despite some certain drawbacks which will be described in the first part of this essay, I am convinced that there are more benefits of a nation having more young citizens than elders, as we shall see.

On the one hand, a youthful population does have many impacts on society as a whole. Firstly, the larger the working-age population is, the less job opportunities given, increasing the unemployment rate and inevitably resulting in a loss of income. Secondly, it is true that the burden on public infrastructure including transport, medical or educational systems will be more enormous and costly to improve. Pressure on schooling, housing, food supplies or health services is of the main reasons causing poverty and social crimes in many countries such as Pakistan or Bangladesh. Vietnam has also struggled with alarming youth crime rates over recent decades because of the increasing number of youngsters in many rural areas.

However, youthful population provides a large future workforce, representing a significant economic resource since a young working population can drive economic growth and offset the social costs of an ageing population. Furthermore, young people tend to update their knowledge and develop their skills faster than elders, hence more easily adapt to dynamic working environments. For example, numerous young but skilled IT technicians and software engineers working in many international companies like Intel, IBM or Microsoft are originally from India, thanks to the successful investment of Indian government in education. In addition, government's revenue can be secured by a young and healthy population through taxes, which is irrefutably essential for a higher living standard of all people.

Overall, youthful population can put strain on critical national infrastructure but it appears to me that the benefits are greater than having an ageing population, provided that government has proper strategies to take advantage of its young manpower resources.