Aging population has concerned many countries as it places burden on the national budget and medical systems. Although some people, for this reason, think retirees should be responsible for their own financial situation, I believe governmental support reflect a fair and humane society.

On the one hand, it is true that the increasing number of senior citizens, namely retired people, exacerbates the medical tension in many countries. Elderly people are often prone to illnesses, and treatments might take longer and cost more than those of young patients. As we have seen, the unfortunate victims of the Covid-19 pandemic are mostly senior members. If the governments have to settle all medical fees for those people, it will possibly leave a big hole in the national budget. Besides, many countries are unable to support elders because they have more immediate priorities over other social problems such as poverty, environmental pollution, and overpopulation. Therefore, fiscal preparedness is crucial for those who want to have a dignified life after retirement.

Pension or financial support, however, should be considered a fair compensation for the taxes and sacrifices a citizen have devoted throughout his or her working life. For example, when employees receive their monthly salary, there will always be an income tax deduction. Or when we buy something, however cheap or expensive the item is, we also have to pay sales tax, namely VAT. Furthermore, I believe a caring and humane society should not abandon anyone, let alone people who are no longer work because of their health condition. In moral terms, we are obligated to children, senior members, or those who are unable to take care of themselves properly.

Generally, financial and medical supports for retired people undoubtedly place constraints on national budget, but it is what a fair and caring society should do for its citizens.