Some people believe that life has become intolerable due to the existence of technology. However, I think the opposite is true, and the complexity of life originates from different sources.

Technology, instead of making life more complicated, is a crucial factor forming the evolution of humanity. In terms of employment, the invention of computers, the Internet and various devices has significantly improved our working productivity. At home, machines have freed people from time-consuming and mundane chores. In agriculture and industry, technology not only helps workers save their labour but also increase their yields. Because the influence of technology is increasingly pervasive, many people have taken it for granted. While it is true that a number of equipment or gadgets are excessively sophisticated to manipulate and require high skills to use, they are not the main reason making our live more complex.

In my opinion, overpopulation constitutes the major source of the extra complication of our life. The increasing strains put on both natural environment and human societies have become intolerable. In many parts of the world, the scarcity of food, accommodation and job opportunities is caused by overpopulation, not technology. While people in those countries are scrambling for basic supplies and suffering from various illnesses, technology might play a minor part in their lives. Conversely, in societies with sufficient resources for dignified living conditions, psychological factors trouble many people, for they are obsessed by items or things that they do not really need or afford. Therefore, our lives would be simpler if we solve those problems, not by reducing the use of technology.

In conclusion, I am opposed to the idea that using less technology will make our lives simpler because the difficulties of life often result from different causes.