The proliferation of private institutes has significantly contributed to the increasing number of scientific research, which used to be exclusively conducted by the governments. Despite some drawbacks, I think this phenomenon should be promoted as it has helped the world gain extraordinary achievements in almost all fields of science.

How to control private companies is probably the biggest problem that many people are worried about. The world has witnessed numerous catastrophes, ranging from environmental disasters to moral distress, caused by nongovernmental firms. Without rigorous supervision, scientific activities such as human genetic modifications or developing perilous weapons can be carried out illegally by private organizations. For this reason, some people think it will be safer and more reliable for the government to have the monopoly on scientific exercises.

However, the irresistible outcomes brought by private enterprises has suggested that we should encourage those companies to devote more time and efforts to science instead of prohibiting them. It is true that thousands of inventions by technological giants such as Microsoft Inc. or Apple Inc. have positively changed the way we live and communicate. Besides, the structures of private businesses are often more flexible and less bureaucratic than those of state-owned ones, hence quicker and more effective procedures for urgent incidents. In fact, the promising Covid-19 vaccines, which have been developed within more than one year by independent entrepreneurs like Pfizer or BioNTech, might be used on human safely while the normal process for a vaccine can take nearly a decade.

All in all, I believe that it is more beneficial for all of us to allow private companies to do scientific research. However, we should ensure that all experiments are legal and strictly monitored by the government.