In the past several decades, the quality of global environment has deteriorated rapidly, threatening lives and sustainable development of millions of people all over the world. Because governmental bodies have enough financial and political powers to conduct environmental protection campaigns on a large scale, they play the principal role in solving the problems. Nonetheless, I believe that it will be a fundamental mistake if we underestimate the essence of individuals in this battle, which I will discuss here.

Generally, politicians and experts know what and how to do to tackle issues relating to the environment at a macro-level. It can be said that the sufficient human resources, coupled with scientific knowledge and the competence of monetary policies allow governmental organizations to effectively handle ecological catastrophes such as oil spills or forest fires. Politicians, more importantly perhaps, have the obligations to formulate long-term strategies which assure a thriving environment for present and future generations.

Notwithstanding the significant role of legislators mentioned above, I think civilians are also an important factor contributing to the successful outcome of the fight against environmental crisis. Not only are individuals able to preserve their environmental milieus by planting more trees, recycling household waste or using ecofriendly products, they are taxpayers who have the legal right to oblige politicians to act for the sake of their well-being. Besides, the voices of environmental activists, for example, Greta Thunberg can constitute an exemplification of the power of ordinary people who are influential and persuasive enough to raise the alarm about the global ecological threats.

Ultimately, neither politicians nor civilians will remain safe if our survival on earth is imperiled; therefore, both sides should be involved in protecting the environment.