An increasing number of parents believe that computers and tablets will help their children learn technology skills. Despite some certain benefits, I am convinced the drawbacks of this tendency are greater, as we shall see.

On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that computers and tablets have significantly enhanced children’s technological abilities. Besides a tremendous source of knowledge, numerous apps from these devices with intuitive and intriguing teaching methods allow children to absorb the information quickly and effectively. Some kids can even know how to create codes to make simple software or games based on the instructions they find online. This will be concrete grounds for those youngsters to flourish their talents if adults pay proper attention to them.

Notwithstanding the advantages, there are two serious issues that parents should take into account of giving their children computers or similar devices. Firstly, not all children love technology, and computers or tablets do not merely offer technological lessons. Internet contents are various, distracting and time-consuming; hence, they might affect the kids’ studying results. Secondly, the prevalence of health problems in children due to sedentary lifestyles and excessive use of smart devices has increased at an alarming rate. Therefore, instead of encouraging, parents should reduce the time their kids spend on computers. For the majority of children, I think some technological skills brought by machines are by no means essential than their mental and physical health.

In conclusion, although computers or tablets are useful, parents should strictly monitor the time and the way their kids use them because some potential risks might outweigh the benefits.