More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Since the commencement of the flourishing technology era, lots of adults give their children the permission to utilize electronic devices as relaxation, in order for them to acquire technological knowledge. From a personal perspective, the writer deems that there are many demerits, notwithstanding the merits.

Discussing the advantages, it is undeniable that children will gain a plethora of benefits thanks to their computing skills. Technology is indispensable for future global citizens’ further development, and schooling barely provides enough chances for the transition of theories to hands-on experience. By early exposure to equipment like computers or tablets, youngsters are liable to practice and improve their ability; hence, being proficient in IT and obtaining requisite qualifications. As any enterprise requires upper-intermediate to advanced capability of computer use, this assists them in job applications, which may give them a lucrative occupation in the future.

Turning to the other side of the argument, these following disadvantages should not be neglected. First and foremost, children’s attitudes may be affected by online platforms’ toxic content. They are so immature and innocent that there is scarcely any possibility to differentiate between friendly and unfriendly entertaining materials. As a result, this leads to inevitable absorption of awful behaviors, since some games and videos actually increase repulsive thoughts and actions in the young. Moreover, early approaches to IT gadgets bring about deteriorations of mental and physical wellbeings. Some studies have shown that juveniles using computers from an early age tend to suffer from Internet addiction, resulting in self-isolation and illusion. In addition, scientists have cited several diseases on people using those devices since childhood, including sight disorders and dementia. As a matter of fact, lots of small children induce different eye issues and have to wear glasses. Much as youngsters excel in technology, they have few opportunitíes to develop further without a healthy overall status.

In brief, the writer would like to emphasize that the argument’s drawbacks far outshadow the potential benefits. Therefore, parents need to warn their children about these flaws of digital use and strictly supervise their usage.