More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news . They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

During the era of modern technology breakthroughs, people stay up-to-date by acquiring news from the Internet rather than newspapers and TV programmes. It seems to be a corroborative shift and this essay will submit evidence to this idea.

First and foremost, Internet-based news appears to be superior to newspapers and TV in several aspects. While reading newspapers or watching TV news takes lots of time and is only available in specific periods, people get access to online news by their mobile devices, which is always portable and at their disposal. Moreover, news websites adapt the content from diverse sources, together with toxic materials censorship using filter systems. Also, most of them are free-charging, or have a reasonable fee policy. As a result, people are capable of saving their time and budget for other tasks, updating the latest news as soon as possible from accurate and reliable resources. Another notable point is the captivating appearance of Internet-based news platforms, which boosts the desire to read news much better than newspapers or TV.

In addition, the development of online news usage is more environmentally beneficial than newspapers. It is acknowledged that printing consumes many papers, but most printed materials are not properly and thoroughly recycled. Papers are made of wood from logging; what’s more, reforestation policies are not well implemented, leading to the detrimental shortage of forests, and negatively affecting the environment. The adaptation of online news platforms minimizes the use of paper-based newspapers; hence, lessening the ratio of newly produced and wasted papers.

To encapsulate, that Internet news replacing newspapers and TV programmes are prerequisite to the mutual developing trend of the global. Its increasing usage does not only promote news reading, but benefits environmental status as well.