Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editor decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in news papers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use you own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your argument with examples and relevant evidence.

It has often been said that 'Good news is bad news' because it does not sell newspaper. A radio station that once decided to present only good news soon found that it had gone out of business for lack of listeners. Bad news on the other hand is so common that in order to cope with it, we often simply ignore it. we have become immune to bad news and the newspapers and radio stations are aware of his.

While newspapers and TV stations may aim to report world events accurately, be they natural or human disasters, political events or the horrors of war, it is also true that their main objective is to sell newspapers and attract listeners and viewers to their stations. For this reason TV and radio stations attempt to reflect the flavours of their stations by providing news broadcasts tailor-made to suit their listeners' preferences. The Programs specializing in pop music or TV soap operas focus more on local news, home issues and up-to-date traffic reports. The more serious stations and newspapers like to provide 'so called' objective news reports with editorial comment aimed at analyzing the situation.

If it is true, then that newspapers and TV stations are tailoring their news to their readers' and viewers' requirements, how can they possibly be reporting real world events in an honest and an objective light? Many radio and TV stations do, in fact, report items of good news but no longer call this news. They refer to these as human interest stories and package in them in programs specializing, for instance, in consumer affairs or local issues. Good news now comes to us in a form of documentaries: the fight against children's cancer or AIDS, or the latest developments in the fight to save the planet from environmental pollution.