Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Music has always been present in the world. From ancient history up to these modern times, music is very much a part of people’s lives. No particular culture will be complete without it. As long as there will be societies, there will is culture and inevitably music. Music has been experienced by people for generations. This is evidenced in the numerous references to music that is documented in stories about people from the beginning of the world until this century. As long as there are humans, there will always be music. If this is so, what is the role of music in our lives and why is it that important?

As human beings, we have a need to express ourselves. As Malsow’s hierarchy of needs explain, individuals long to be fulfilled by safety and belonging. One of the ways to satisfy this need is to reach out to fellow humans through expression. Music as an expression of feelings has been recorded since long ago. Artifacts of different musical instruments have been archeologically found and songs of old have been passed through generations. This is perhaps the reason why music has always permeated the lives of people regardless of age, race, origin.

Since music is inextricably part of culture, there have been innumerable variations of it. There is music played with various instruments, music that is sung and those that are danced to. Music knows no boundaries in terms of where and when it is made or expressed. Hence, one of the questions that come to mind is the argument between traditional country music and international music. Which is more important?

The music that one has experienced growing up that has been revered and preserved for centuries is one that is called traditional country music. This is familiar and evokes certain memories in people. Whether good or bad, the nostalgia brought about by this music is one that is close to the heart. It is traditional because it has been handed over by one’s ancestors. It uses local instruments and has sentiments that represent a particular culture or way of life. This music is a symbol of the person one is now and from where one came from. Perhaps this is a reason why people value this type of music.

But there are those persons who have been exposed to other types of music. Due to globalization, there is now unlimited access to different types of music through travel and the internet. People have been able to sample the sounds of other cultures and many have adopted certain sound preferences because of this. Non-traditional and more adventurous individuals have decided to look for different music other than their own. Their view on music shows their taste for a wider perspective and perhaps a hunger to explore more samples of music.

Wherever one’s tastes lie, whether for classical, more homegrown sounds or for experimental, alternative music, one thing remains. Music is here to stay.