With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, Many young people are pressured to succeed academically, so removing non-academic subjects can help them concentrate on academic subjects. When non-academic subjects are removed from the syllabus, students don’t have to spend time on studying non-academic subjects such as physical education, cookery, and other unnecessary subjects. In order to do that, children can use both of their time and energy to study better. Moreover, students can develop social skills and major knowledge in majors that they focus and passion. Therefore, many students have an excellent education result when they just focus on academic subjects.

In contrast, children can use less important skills to face the world and make accurate decisions. Studying non-academic subjects help students expand many software skills like interpersonal skills, problem skills, communication skills, etc. In addition, children are developing physically and emotions, so help them refresh their mind and reduce stress after studying hard. Furthermore, non-academic subjects such as passion, music, physical, cookery, social skills, etc also can help students grow up and help them become confident people in life. A case in point, many people in the world achieved success, but their work could be broken soon because of health problems or their skill, consequently they are difficult to go far away. In contrast, many old people are at retirement age, but they also have strong health to do work. That’s a result of the learning process when they were students.