With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students today are under pressure to be academically successful; therefore, some people assume schools should exclude non-academic subjects to benefit students' academic performances. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea because studying these subjects can bring valuable advantages to students.

Firstly, non-academic subjects can lessen students' possibility of back health issues. To be specific, some students may have bad postures and back pain because of spending too much time staying in one position during classes. Therefore, learning subjects such as physical exercise could prevent students from back pain and incorrect postures because it encourages them to exercise and do sports. Researchers from a university in the UK have proved that physical education could improve back health for students, as it prevents students from stiffness after long hours of sitting and allows more time for students to do sports.

Moreover, non-academic subjects can play a role as a means of relaxation for students after stressful lessons. Many students could feel mentally tired after nerve-racking classes and experience a mental breakdown when receiving a bad test result. With the help of subjects such as arts and physical education, they could divert their attention from stressful thoughts and refresh their minds, which would significantly improve students' mental health. According to a research article from a university in China, the number of students experiencing academic burnout has decreased by 10% by learning non-academic subjects with proper instructions from teachers.

In conclusion, non-academic lessons are a crucial part of a student's academic life as they can strengthen back health and help relieve stress from academic pressure. Therefore, despite some approvals of keeping only academic subjects, I disapprove of removing these subjects from the school syllabus.