With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The majority of<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> schools devote most of the school day to academic classes and are planning to </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">cut</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> the time for physical education and other non-academic classes. However, not everyone agrees with this way of dividing up the school day. While there are people who think that school should only be about academics, others believe that physical education is also important for the children's lives, and I agree with this point of view.

Some people feel that school </span>should be<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> all about academics. According to this point of view, children need to spend their entire school day learning math, science, literature, and history. Devoting time to these subjects is the best way to prepare children for their future university education and careers. If children enjoy play sports, they should do it outside of school time.

Other people, however, feel that physical education is an important part of a child's education. According to this point of view, physical education teaches children important skills such as teamwork, leadership, and how to win and lose gracefully. In addition, physical education classes are the best way to </span>ensure<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> that children get regular physical exercise that they need to stay healthy. Finally, if children spend a little time every day being physically active, it helps them concentrate better on their academic work.

I agree that devoting some school time to physical education is necessary. If schools don't give importance to physical education, children will not learn that it is important. They won't get the exercise they need to grow up healthy. They won't choose to play sports if no one teaches them that they are important.

Academics are important, but </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">physical</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> education is important, too. Schools need to prepare children for all aspects of life, without excluding the care of their physical health. </span>