With the pressures on today's young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, youngsters are going through high stress due to the expectations of always performing well in the academic fields. Hence, this leads to the thought that the non-academic subjects should be abolished from the curriculum to leave more room for those academic ones so that students can put their whole heart to achieve the best score in academics. However, I personally hold the opposite opinion over this viewpoint for several reasons.

Firstly, the vocational subjects provide opportunities for children to acquire and enhance essential skills which are proved to be necessary for their comprehensive development. For instance, through physical education, not only can youngsters improve both their physical and mental health but they can also gain practical skills such as communication, teamwork, and decision-making. These life skills, obviously, are not taught in those academic subjects.

Secondly, while every child is gifted with a special talent, not many of them can truly recognize it. Therefore, engaging in extra-curricular activities is a chance for students to bring out their hidden talents to the limelight and give wings to it. After all, one of the primary goals of education is to help students discover their true interests and encourage them to pursue it. In fact, many singers, athletes, and artists recognized their abilities and passions in non-academic fields from an early age and then later achieved great success in their career.

In conclusion, I believe that non-academic subjects are as crucial as academic ones for the wholesome development of an individual so there is no point in vanishing these subjects. School should provide a rounded education with a mix of academic and non-academic fields to give students the best preparation for their life in the future