Prevention is better than cure. Do you agree or disagree that out of the country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health and education and preventive measure

Many individuals assert that allocating a significant portion of the government's health budget should be concentrated in health promotion and disease prevention, instead of focusing on treatment. I Fully agree with these notion for some reason.

To begin with, spending government fund in educating the people about personal wellness and creating programs in preventing diseases engages the public to choose a healthier behavior. These change in attitude towards health reduces the risk of people developing chronic illnesses. For example, nowadays many individuals are more conscious on the food that they eat and perform daily exercises to avoid conditions such as hypertension and diabetes. These allows individual to live a fit and longer life.

Moreover, giving emphasis on disease prevention and health education also helps the country's economy by keeping people out of the hospital. This greatly reduces the government from spending for confinement and treatment. In the US, studies show that after an enhanced patient education and follow up by health professionals a noticeable decrease in readmission was noted. Consequently, government can put aside these saved funds for other programs and expenditures.

In summary, it is undeniably important for any governing body to set a buget for reasearch and giving aid for treatment of infirmity of its people. However, I hold the view that a bigger cut of these fund should be for teaching the public the value of health and prevention of diseases, for these will result in a population free from sickness and a healthier economy.