Many individuals argue that the most efficient means of reducing criminality is by imposing longer prison term. Nevertheless, there are people with the opinion that there are other less rigid ways to combat crimes.

Heavy penalty and sending a person to prison for much longer time causes fear to the public or anyone contemplating of committing a crime. These policies have been in practice in a lot of countries including Singapore which in turn reduced the crime rate of the country. It is deemed as one of the safest places in the world. In addition, longer sentences keep the criminals incarcerated for an extended period of time. This leads to decrease number of repetitive offenders from flooding the streets, thus providing a more secure environment.

However, there are alternative ways in keeping the society crime free. One is by the strict implementation of the law by police and other law enforcers. These can be achieved by strengthening policies and boosting security measures in crime infested communities. For instance, installing CCTV cameras in dark alleys and increasing police visibility in these areas, hence, resulting in decrease crime rates. Furthermore, parental supervision is a big factor in the formation of an individual's moral values. With the proper guidance of parents, juvenile delinquency and adult crimes can be reduce. Based on studies conducted with juvenile delinquency, a large number of these offenders are from broken families and was brought up by a single parent or was placed in foster homes.

In conclusion, handing out extended prison sentences will definitely give criminals some trepidation in committing crimes. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that the strict implementation of the law and the proper guidance of the family will have a better result in providing a perfectly safe environment for everyone in the long run.