Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Decreasing crime rate, a significant indication for countries level of safety, is a heated-up issue. Some people advocate that prolonging the sentences period for prisoners is the optimum solution; however, the opponents reject this notion, believing that there are other ways can be introduced to reduce this alarming rate. I am supportive of the opinion that alternative actions are more beneficial for both. This essay will discuss, firstly, the thoughts of reducing rate by imposing longer sentences, and secondly, the alternative ways that can be taken, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

One of the major aims for all governments is to reduce the rates of crimes in their countries, as the low rate of crimes leads impacts positively on nation life. There are strong laws and rules to be followed by all nations, but there are still criminals who break these for their personal benefits. Therefore, some accusations lead to put its offenders into jail for long period to avoid their deterioration effect on societies. For example, Life sentence is recently being accepted by several countries on those offenders who convicted by premeditated murder and rapes where in United states of America was the first country to introduce this law.

On contrary, Opponents thinks that if countries applied other sentences rather than increasing the duration for prisoners, it would be more beneficial for both, prisoners and country. Criminals can be assigned by some work which will help him in his future life, and country economy can be benefited by using this huge manpower in country development. For instance, some countries allow the prisoners to work in infrastructure projects such as roads and flyovers where in Egypt and its desert areas.

To sum up, the long sentences might be one of the reasons to lessen the measured rate of crimes; however, more can be better as a solution to the country, individuals and prisoners themselves.