Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

Educational methods, different systems are introduced globally, should be taken the highest consideration by parents and society. Some people advocate that encouraging children for competing their peers is a must for personality development; while, the opponents reject this notion, believing that children should be learnt to cooperate with each other to be more useful. I am supportive of the opinion that the cooperation leads to a balanced positive person not only for himself, but also for his community. This essay will discuss, firstly, the effect of encouraging children to the sense competition, and secondly, if the cooperation sense is introduced, would it be better? Followed by a reasoned conclusion.

One of the methods of education is to push children towards competing other pupils at school, and it is supported by many people. By putting children in such competitive environment between others, it boosts their ability and personality to succeed in their studies. It is also increasing their sense of responsibility while introducing into the work market. For example, Western markets where in United States of America are very competitive to be sustained by normal people. However, only strong businessmen who learnt from their early ages the meaning of fair competition are successful and being a leaders for several people.

On contrary, Cooperation sense between children is preferred to be encouraged by other people who believe that it produced very special productive adults. That level of productivity cannot be reached without learning the cooperation during the childhood; therefore, Eastern countries prefer to implement such educational system in their schools. For instance, a survey has been undertaken by a prestigious university in London reported that 90% of scientists all over the world are taught the sense of cooperation while their elementary schools. As result of that most of recent inventions are usually invented by groups of scientists who cooperate each other in their experiment.

To sum up, although the competition sense is mandatory to be implemented on children to boosts their abilities and skills, we can not deny that cooperation is a must for some cases for fruitful future and country development. I would suggest that a mixed method between both systems can be the optimum educational path for children if it is applied and controlled by educational experts.