Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that children should be motivated to be competitive, while others feel that cooperation is a more important value to establish in the young. I believe that while competition can help children to evaluate their strengths and weaknesses, cooperation is more important because it teaches them to work within a team, a crucial skill for them to possess as they enter adulthood.

Competitiveness in children often reveals their strengths and weaknesses and helps them to evaluate themselves. When children compete with others, they are able to compare their strengths and weaknesses which help them to evaluate themselves and learn from it. For example, a recent survey by The Sunday Times found that almost 80% of the children who were competing in the Olympics Junior category and failed to make it to the final round were aware about their weaknesses. However, having a competitive attitude is useful for attaining only short term goals.

On the other hand, cooperation teaches children to work within a group. This is because most work requires more than a person to successfully complete it and also that it can be done easily in less time than it would require for a single person to complete it. This is why learning this skill would help children to be prepared for future and become more useful to society. As an example, recent research by Brown University revealed that most successful managers were involved in at least one group activity when they were students.

To conclude, while having a sense of competition in children can reveal their strengths and weaknesses, learning how to cooperate prepares them to work within a group and so, it is more important to learn it.