More people are spending their free time watching movies. Why is it? Is it good or bad?

Movies have become a popular source of entertainment and business in recent years. Substantial time and money is spent each month by individuals generating huge revenue from it. But, although movies have significant role in our cultural and economic growth, it is deleterious at an individual level especially for children and adults alike who spend their free time watching movies, and TV series endlessly. We will delve into the positives and negatives of this emerging cultural trend now.

Internet has revolutionized the availability of various entertainment –movies, TV series, comedy shows, spiritual, devotional and educational videos like tutorials on any literary subjects are ubiquitous, making then easily available to the mass at low costs. However, they consume a greater part of our free time making us feel happy, knowledgeable and aware with trending movies but leaves meagre time for our personal growth. Movies are so addicting that people spend hours in front of them unconsciously, thus affecting their health and family life as well. People not only end up squandering their free time but also their money.

Recent studies suggest that people on average people spend 4 hours on entertainment in daily basis while travelling, eating and before sleeping which adds up to 120 hours or 5 days monthly. A constant source of entertainment makes us dependent on it, leaving no space for our personal creativity, family or friends A generation suffering in obesity due to poor lifestyle habits has crept up.

To sum up, people watching movies during their free time is a harmful trend for our culture and well-being, which could wisely be used for learning other vital skills for our personal growth and development.