“Prevention is better than cure”. Out of country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health, education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some experts are in favour that more money should be transferred from the government funding in treatment to education and preventative measures. I totally agree to the suggested policy by the experts.

In this age of microchips and high technology, many people are turning their back on modern pills and other conventional medicine. This is due to the realization taking pills or tablet will lead to minor side effects and often time patient become dependent on it. For example, most of the people take paracetamol or often known as panadol when they have a headache. According to the research, it can cause stomach ulcers over time. Thus instead of pouring money into some pharmaceutical company to produce all these medicines, health budget should be granted to educating the people how to tackle illnesses with a holistic approach.

Despite the breakthrough in the modern medicine and technology, there are still some diseases are incurable, for instance, AIDS and cancer. Treatment can be done, however, the truth is they are indestructible. People would spend millions dollars to undergo chemotherapy or other forms of treatment. Likewise, if preventative health talks are being delivered adequately, more people would rather be spending their money when they are still healthy and disease-free to achieve a healthy lifestyle. For example, they will be allocating money on gym membership, stress management classes, organic vegetables and fruits or any other activities to live a balanced lifestyle.

To conclude, education in changing the perspective of people towards the definition of health should be carried out more often. The saying goes “prevention is better than cure”. I believe education is the key to reach an optimal health in every person holistically and this needs more funding to attain the success.