Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this world of globalization, a second language is learned by many to be able to thrive in the world. Some would argue that it is better for the younger generation to learn a new language other than mother tongue from primary school rather than secondary school. I believe this would have more pros than cons.

To begin, kids from 6 – 12 has the most room for development and growth which many countries have acknowledged. They are like a piece of white paper waiting for the teacher in class to fill them up with a new skill, knowledge and language. For example, kids in Malaysia are compulsory to learn at least two languages in primary and secondary school. Learning a foreign language can be incorporated in the classroom as kids would absorb everything the teachers have taught as compared to starting from teenagers.

Secondly, learning a langue from young will allow one to have time to master a language. By the time the children grow up and step into the workforce, a foreign language is no longer foreign to them. This will help them to use the language in full capacity as they have many years of learning and practising the language skills since young. Some say it would not be too late to learn from secondary school, but as far as I know, the secondary school has many more new subjects/skills to start with. It is not ideal for the development of a foreign language as compared to starting it in early age.

To conclude, learning a foreign language has more advantages starting from primary school because children learn best at a young age and it gives time for children to own it like a mother tongue over time.