"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are considerable debates about should government allocate a greater amount of health budget for health education and preventative measures than treatment. From my sentiment, I totally disagree with that idea due to two principal reasons which will be mentioned in the following essay.

Firstly, the quality of treatment surely will be witnessed a significant decrease. Nowadays, the cost for medical examination such as pharmacy, hospital bed and other additional services increase rapidly, hence if the budgets spent on curing are reduced, it is hardly to cope with this situation. Consequently, hospitals will cut off or replace numerous things which bring negative effects to the quality of medical services. For example, instead of using high quality medicines, clinics will use other pharmacies with lower quality.

Secondly, the quantity of citizens who cured certainly will be dropped extremely. It is a fact that the number of population surge day by day, that mean the total citizens who receive the financial support of health care will raise speedily. Therefore, it will find it difficult to deal with this increase if the funding for treatment have a slump. For instance, the treatment budgets were cut off from ten million dollars to seven million dollars in Vietnam in 2010. However, after 2 years, they were required to recover and even increase slightly the amount of funding to twelve million dollars due to there were more than five million new born.

In conclusion, decreasing in spending on treatment will affect negatively to the quality of medical services as well as the number of residents treated. Hence, government should set the equal priority between treatment and health education as well as defensive solutions.