"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Health is the greatest asset a person possesses. The modern medicine is based on two lines prevention and treatment. Many people argue that the balances of the annual health care budget should shift to prevention compared with a cure, In this case, I'm inclined to agree preventive measures and health education should be a priority of government.

To begin with, to prevent the diseases from happening than required to pharmaceutical or surgical intervention is much easier and wiser. The lots of the serious diseases like diabetes, heart disease, a variety of cancers and HIV brought on by factors such as poor lifestyle, lack of knowledge, obesity, smoking and also pollution. Because the cost of the treating these diseases are very high and the prognosis uncertain, some basic solution like improving diet, anti-smoking campaigns, less use of sugar and salt help us to have healthy habits of eating and living. For example, these days with polio vaccination schemes around the world, the child protects and immunize from polio.

On the other hand, the government should have a short and long program to take away money from remedy for people who already ill or suffer those diseases preventable or predictable like inherited ills. Researchers need government money and support for medical survey and experiment for cures and develop new medicines.

To sum up, the lifestyle changes should be teach from the early ages. Preventive measures help us to save health, time money. Prevention may be better than cure, but it can never wholly replace it. Thus in diverting health spending from treatment to preventative measures, nations should have balanced and useful approaches.