"Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures.

To what extent do you agree.

It is often argued that researching a disease is more costly than preventing and more measures must be taken to prevent the diseases.However,while i agree that eradicating the disease has had a positive impact,I disagree that research must be stopped on curing them.

Prevention of diseases has always been attractive to scientists and researchers.The diseases can be halted and no extra costs are needed to cure these.People won't have to worry about these diseases and they can live a happy life without encountering these diseases in their life.For instance,Polio prevention is famous throughout the world and vaccinations are given to new born babies to prevent the disease.But even prevention takes a huge amount of money to research and implement and the prevention of many diseases is impossible as it may disrupt the balance in the eco-system

Curing on the other hand is extremely costly but without treatments for diseases the population standard of living decreases as they suffer from these and nations stop functioning which may lead to recession and loss of food .Humans may suffer for a long time due to absence of treatments and research and this may result in death.

If research is stopped on curing then humans may become extinct due to these diseases.For example,without cure for Ebola the human population may be eradicated.

To conclude, even though people think that prevention of diseases is optimal,it is not always the case and may lead to the downfall of humanity.