Problem:

Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The curriculum today has change over the past decade and some people are insisting that schools should have a subject that will teach the student how to properly handle money in order to survive. I, for one strongly agree with the statement because this will surely make them realize the vital importance of spending money.

To start with, schools should include one of their subject in teaching their students how to become responsible with their finances. In this particular subject, teachers and professors should inculcate to students the significance of budgeting and saving money that can be use in times of emergency. If this will be taught, consequently, it will not just help them organize their finances, also they can think maturely since they already have ideas on how to properly spend money. For instance, writing down their overall expenses everyday in a planner, students can contemplate if money spent the entire day went to essential things.

Moreover, if schools include financial literacy subject to their syllabus, there will be an enormous change on how adolescents spends the hard earn money coming from their guardians. In this way, instead of asking allowance always, they can easily get it from their savings especially if a sudden project needs contribution of money. In addition, they will learn to separate important and nonsense things once they know how their parents work hard in order for them to have money everyday for school. For instance, students that are studying in a different place away from their home, they can learn to properly budget their allowance with the help of this kind of subject. Once this lessons are instilled to students way of thinking, they will think hundred times and weigh first if they will spend money over material things or save it and use it for a better cause.

In conclusion, financial literacy is important to each and everyone and this should be taught at an early age so that students will learn how to become responsible on how they spend money wisely.