Professional sports are a very large industry in the world today. The most elite players can get contracts worth many millions of dollars. Some say the is too much money in sports and that it defeats the purpose of the actual game.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Elite participants of professional sport these days are seen receiving contracts with millions of dollars, which they are deemed to be overpaid, fading the real purpose of the game. In my opinion, although these professional players receive an excess salary, I still believe that there are reasons for this phenomenon.

On the one hand, it is true that an excessive amount of money is paid to sports players, which is still not a vital service for the society. For example, professional footballers in international competitions make enormous salaries for just by kicking a ball. Without such big sports competitions, people can still live happily as it only plays the role of a form of entertainment. In contrast, professionals like nurses, doctors, teachers are examples of people who made such dedication to society that should be valued more.

On the flip side of the coin, it is still fair for sports professionals to receive large sums of money for their plays. Firstly, there is a wide number of sports players in every nation, but only a minority become elite players. Secondly, sport is a prominent entertainment industry, a large audience of sports fans are willing to buy tickets to watch celebrities playing. Besides that, television games or sports events with these famous figures with high entertaining rates also attract millions of viewers. Thus, it is reasonable to reward these top sports persons for their hard work, trials, and practice.

In conclusion, although skillful sports persons receive large amounts of money for their salary, for the fun and money that they bring to people and the economy, they are worthy of their rewards.