Many cities around the world are considering turning streets into car-free zones, which help curb pollution and make people healthier. However, some people believe that cities will suffer once this becomes the norm. In your opinion, what are the advantages and disadvantages of banning private cars in city centers?

Status quo of environmental pollution lends itself to be one of the most conspicuous blunders of the zenith of humanity’s development. As a rectificative measure, numerous authorities are set on banning usage of four-wheeled private vehicles in urban centers, which raises concern over associated repercussions of such a measure. I shall analyze both the demerits and merits of this policy in the forthcoming paragraphs.

Private vehicle restrictions among city hearts pose two noticeable negative developments. Firstly, public agreement presents an obstacle. Being deprived of their ability to use their own cars, anger would indubitably be stoked up among the general public. This is due to the effects of an individualist society where people are not willing to sacrifice themselves for the greater good. Such a thing would impede an implementation of the policy or result in people resorting to circumventive tactics which would fail to alleviate pollution issues. A second downside of this approach is insidious economic consequences. As such a ban would serve to discourage future car purchases, countries that thrive on the automobile manufacturing industry would suffer from plummeted sales. However, these aftereffects are usually ephemeral and people would soon move on to adapt to the policy and foster immense benefits.

On the other hand, a palpable positive implication of restricting private transport lies in its benefit for the environment and city-dwellers’ life. Absence of diesel-powered automobiles would tantamount to a reduction in emitted carbon dioxide volume along with other toxic gasses. As such, time is reserved for existing plants and trees to clean the air and recover, along with freed space for traditional activities such as kid playing, paint displays etc. and reduced traffic congestion. Ergo, people are benefited from air tranquility and people suffering from lung conditions such as asthma are no longer confined in cramped indoor places.

More notably, this policy has the ability to drastically alter people’s mindset and habits for the better. With the ban of private cars comes the encouraged use of public transport, elevating its prevalence as a better alternative. In addition, because people are steered from car purchases, alternatives are empowered to gain popularity. Electric motorcycles, a relatively new technology, would be allowed to grow into acceptance.

In conclusion, public outcry and momentary economic sufferings are two short-term down-sides of banning car use, whereas this policy would be a candidate for resolving environmental issues along with positively reshaping people’s lifestyle.