Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, public libraries resources provoke a field of debate for some individuals. Those people greatly believe that common libraries should scant their resources to books only and not to misspend other expensive hight-tech media represented in software, DVDs, and videos. This essay will discuss why such high-tech media is dramatically vital in the light of the world’s dependency on media and the internet.

There is no doubt that traditional books are a very important source of information, especially for those who do not have any access to other sources of guidance. Moreover, written books, for some people, are way more important than any e-learning source for so many reasons. One of these reasons is how cheap and accessible the books are, for example, you can just borrow a book from a friend or a relative and acquire all the knowledge you need without spending a penny. Furthermore, others believe that books are easier on the eyes and help young people become better readers. They also assume that, through books, you can effortlessly absorb more information. These few instances show why some people advocate using books in libraries as better than high-tech media.

Despite the minor perspective associated with limiting the use of high-tech media in libraries, what makes sense for other people is that we have to keep up with the global dependency on the internet. Those who support using books instead of any type of e-learning are totally wrong; in the view of the fact that, public libraries are the best setting for learning how to use computers, which has become a necessary skill for everyone. Over and above that, dealing with given materials on the computer is way easier than any written materials, for instance, if one watches a video, he\ she can forward or backward any part required and repeat it over and over again, one can also search any statement or piece of information one wants to get more details about in a blink of an eye. Overall, the idea of restricting the use of technology-based materials in libraries could potentially lead to a far worse outcome, resulting in the overall technological deterioration of people.

This essay argued that individuals who are against operating the e- learning and technology in the public libraries instead of utilizing books have a flawed understanding of the overall technological progress happening all over the world. In my opinion, using technology, not just in libraries, but in all life aspects is something that we cannot replace, it is a prime dominant principal we all rely on.