Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. Do you agree or disagree?

Libraries are the lighthouse for all illumination seekers and the gateway to past, better present and future. It is undisputable to provide a rich variety of books in all public libraries for all readers sake, but the high-tech publishing resources on the other hand are questionable. The upcoming words will try to balance between whether the resources of public libraries should be totally spent on paper books, or some of it should go to the new facilitating technologies.

Technological advancements in the fields of publishing, such as electronic books and videotaped DVDs have invaded the reader’s world. Accessibility, facilitated by the internet, gave it domination over the vintage books to be in every reader’s, not only house or desk, but also pocket. But what about the public libraries? In my point of view, it needs some of these technologies to indulge readers to attend. Furthermore, it will make the life of the attendant easier in searching for information on the internet. Even an explanatory video on a CD or DVD provided by the library to explain a topic on a book is a mandatory clog in the wheel of education to whom who seek knowledge in public libraries. Some of these higher technologies are even cheaper than some printed books and do not cost much. Accordingly, whether the public libraries have a remarkably limited resource or not, it should provide some sort of new technologies in media.

For reader, the scent of a new book, or even an old heritage book provides some sort of euphoria and excitement for the new adventure that is about to be made. Without these books, we wouldn’t even have these high-tech media to begin with. As a result, there is no doubt that books are the pillars of the public libraries and should have the lion’s share of the library’s budget. Afterward, if the budget allows for more facilitating media equipment, then it’s a must to invest in.

In a nutshell, public libraries have a limited financial income that should be well spent. In my humble opinion, it is obligatory for the financial blueprint to provide part of technology in the library experience for a lot of purposes such as research and facilitation.