By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilt of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many countries have forbidden the death penalty as it has always been a contentious issue almost everywhere in the world. In this essay, my opinion against the capital punishment will be discussed.

One of the most significant argument against the death penalty is that killing someone as a punishment for a murder is a contradiction. The reason for this is that it is difficult to explain to the population why murdering a human can be acceptable under certain conditions. For example, in some countries the death penalty is still applicable, however it is frequently misunderstood by the inhabitants and might lead to dramatic events. This is because if the society is allowed to murder someone for justice, some people may believe that they can harm others if they have reasons to.

Furthermore, another significant argument is that human mistakes are possible and relatively frequent. Consequently, convicted murderers could be found innocent even if the justice has sanctioned them to the capital punishment. For instance, a few cases have been reopened because technological means have improved over the years and it was discovered that a criminal who had been killed was in fact non-guilty of murder. Therefore, because of this possibility, I believe that humans should always be kept alive in prison so that they can be free if needed.

To summarise, I firmly believe that the death penalty is not an appropriate punishment even for murderers. Indeed, not only can human mistakes happen during investigations and trials, but it is inappropriate for a society to condemn an act that they are allowed to do.