Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment.

Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

In recent years, the proportion of people living in a flat has increased. While some people think living in a flat is more convenient, others believe that a house is a more peaceful environment. In this essay, both benefits and drawbacks will be discussed.

On the one hand, living in a house is a dream for most families. The reason for this is that when you live in a house you are often far away from your neighbours. Therefore, you are living in a quieter environment compared to a flat. To cite an example, in a house you will not be disturbed by any noise whereas in a flat you will probably hear when your neighbours are watching tv or when a baby is crying. A second advantage of living in a house is the possible presence of a garden. Owning a garden is seen as a luxury for a great part of the population as it enables children to play outside easily instead of playing indoors.

On the other hand, there are also advantages of living in an apartment. The first significant positive aspect is that it is not as expensive as living in a house. As a result, people who live in a flat may have more money to spend for their holidays or entertainment, for example. A second benefit is that a flat is often smaller than a house, thus it is more easily cleaned-up. For instance, it can be essential for families as workers are busier than ever and do not necessarily have the time to take care of a home.

To summarise, although there are benefits of living in a flat such as the cost-efficiency, I do believe there are more advantages of living in a house. Therefore, people living in a house can have a more peaceful daily life.