By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The life imprisonment is the most effective method of punishment than capital punishment. In my opinion, I agree with this statement because of the financial, the possible safety reasons and the appeal.

The costs involving life imprisonment are cheaper than capital punishment. The costs of carrying out a death sentence is more than the life imprisonment, because criminals are carrying out endless appeals to delay the procedures and takes up a lot of times. In California, for instance, spent more than $117 million each year to maintain and procedure of a death penalty compared to $2.34 million for life in sentences. Therefore, life sentences are better than the death penalty for the cost effective reasons.

Moreover life sentences are the best approaches for providing safety to the public. Life without the possibility of parole is an alternative to capital punishment that addresses our need for public safety. Almost 9 out of 10 responses that life in prison without parole feels secure than that of capital punishment. Hence, by putting criminals in prison can provide some safe measure for public.

In my opinion, despite all those reasons, the most beneficial point for life in prison is the possible appeals. For example, the prisoner had locked up in cells for murdering 7 years old girl in 2000 in California. He was finally able to release from the cells with innocent guilty of murder cases after 16 years of persistent appeals. If he had sentenced for death penalty, the society would commit a crime of killing an innocent man. Therefore, life imprisonment is the best approach to provide the second chance for murderers.

In conclusion, the death penalty can be seen as the violation of criminal act of killing a person and possibility of killing an innocent person. Therefore, life imprisonment is the better punishment for murderers for its cost effective and public safety reasons.