The purpose of businesses is to make money and they should concentrate only on this. Do you agree or disagree?

In my opinion, making profit is the most important target of every company's operations. However, I do not agree with the idea of concentrating only on the business's commercialism. Instead of that, businesses should focus on other things such as environment, employee, local community, etc to advert risk of failure.

First of all, the business should consider the adverse effect of their factory's production line on the environment. The modern world has experienced the discharge of unavoidable residual emission from factories such as carbon dioxide, which cause pollution. As a result, this problem becomes a subject of concern in many countries and is put into law by some governments. If the company continues to make money regardless of the damage to the environment, they would be legally responsible that requires them to spend a part of the profit for court fee.

Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, I also believe that it would be insufficient not to mention the employee treatment. The employee is very crucial for sustaining and running a company, on the other hand, the business making higher profits would give more job opportunities for people's career. They take advantage of each other, which means the employee will lose their motivation in maintaining work quality if the company does not bring them the benefits that are worth their effort. Worse work performance and productivity could lead to a decrease in profits and the reputation of the company.

Last but not least, another important role for business is in the local community. They can invest in local events by giving money so that these events can take place. Some of their profits can be spent enhancing life standard in the local area, for example, by providing scholarships to students.

In my view, therefore, the primary purpose of businesses is to make money. For the reasons mentioned above, I believe that this is not the only thing they should concentrate on because there are other essential considerations for them too.