Q 18 More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information therefore there is no need to print books, magazines and newspapers on paper. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the need for printed books has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to keep a record of information on paper, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from electronic books and magazines. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that the development of technology makes it possible for people to have access to a huge amount of information by making use of electronic gadgets, such as smartphones and tablets. To be more specific, electronic gadgets can contribute to an increase in the quality of life given that not only can people be free from bringing heavy hard copies, but they are also able to look up the meaning of unknown words owing to the search function in devices. In addition, from the perspective of publishing companies, these firms can instantly correct mistakes, including typing errors, on the Internet, instead of releasing new editions with paper that costs a fortune.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of electronic documents merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that electronic books could be hacked, exerting a detrimental influence on both individuals and the government as a whole. This is because hackers can access personal information as well as country's official documents. If confidential information were revealed to criminals, it would pose a threat to national security. Furthermore, if students are only allowed to use electronic textbooks, pupils who lack self-control would be easily distracted. In other words, they are less likely to concentrate on their classes as they can play online games and keep in touch with friends via social networking services. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.