Q10 : Developments in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe the solution in these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to deal with environmental issues has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that technology allows humans to handle environmental problems, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having a simpler way of life can alleviate the level of environmental concerns do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that with the advent of personal vehicles, a multitude of individuals driving cars, operated by fossil fuels, emitting a large quantity of CO2, which leads air pollution as well as climate change exerting a detrimental influence on human beings. Furthermore, an astronomical amount of waste is produced since numerous goods made of non-disposable plastic are used by a myriad of everyday people, posing a threat to the environment. Given these points, some people hold the view that changing our lifestyle into a simpler way, such as avoiding using plastic bags and commuting to and from work by public transport, can ease these environmental problems.

My opinion, however, is that people should make use of technology in order to resolve contemporary issues related to the environment. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that in this technologically advanced era, a great number of large companies invest vast sums of money in developing the way to utilise renewable energy, including electricity. As an illustration, Tesla which is a notable firm in the field of the automobile industry could release cars taking advantage of electricity as an energy source in the market with the help of technological progress. These personal vehicles can ameliorate the quality of air given that they do not generate carbon dioxide. In addition, the majority of developed countries across the globe have a predisposition to convert thermal power plants into other stations run by alternative energy, such as tidal power and solar power owing to up-to-date technology. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the advancement of technology makes it possible for people to combat environmental problems for the reasons discussed above.