Q13 : The spread of multinational companies and the increase of globalisation produces positive effects for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the question of whether an increase in the number of international corporations in the era of globalisation is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that ( globalisation exerts a positive influence on individuals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the growth of global firms. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that international businesses that have established branches in local countries invigorate economic success considering that global companies create numerous employment opportunities in these nations, making it possible for local residents to land a job with greater ease. In addition, from the customers' perspective of view, customers are provided with more choices as they can buy a multitude of global products which enable them to have an improved standard of living.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the globalisation trend merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that local nations often suffer from brain drain because the majority of multinational companies have a predisposition to hire competent job seekers by providing higher salaries as well as more perks than domestic firms, which often prevents them from finding good employees. Furthermore, some international businesses are inclined to enter local markets in order to maximise their profits without carefully investigating local environments and policies related to business, which can cause cultural friction. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.